Getting caught driving on a suspended license is a serious offense in the State of Georgia. It is a fingerprintable offense, which means that you will usually be arrested and have to post a bond to get out of jail. A conviction carries with it at least two days in jail, a 6 month suspension of your privilege to drive in this state (which will likely be reported to your home state if you have an out of state license), an expensive fine and usually 12 months probation as well. Here at Kunes Law Office, our Suspended License Lawyers work hard to see if we can keep the impacts to your license and livelihood to a minimum.
Reasons Your License Was Suspended
Drivers have their license suspended for a variety of reasons. We see unpaid traffic tickets, missed court dates, lapses in insurance, failure to pay child support, point suspensions or DUI convictions causing the lion’s share of suspensions. Often times you may have moved to a new address and not updated a court or the licensing agency with your new address, so you didn’t even receive notice of the suspension or missed court date. Our Suspended License Attorneys have seen it all, and can discuss with you the best way to address your individual problems and proactively seek a solution.
Georgia Driving While License Suspended Statute
O.C.G.A. § 40-5-121 makes it a crime to knowingly drive on the highways of Georgia while your license is suspended, cancelled or revoked. If you have never had a license or cannot get a license ever, driving violates O.C.G.A. § 40-5-20 and is punished the same way as if your license was suspended. If you have a valid license but were caught without having the license in your car with you, that is a violation of O.C.G.A. § 40-5-29 and is not as serious of an offense.
The first offense of Driving While License Suspended in five years is a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to a $1,000 fine, a minimum of two days in jail, and a 6 month suspension of your driving privileges. A second and a third offense within five years is a high and aggravated misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine from $1,000 to $2,500, a minimum of ten days in jail, and a 6 month suspension of your driving privileges. A fourth or subsequent conviction within five years is a felony offense and is punishable by imprisonment for one to five years and a fine from $2,500 to $5,000.
Getting Your Driving Privileges Reinstated
As you can see, it is important to not get caught numerous times driving while license suspended. Each conviction is punished more seriously than the last, and carries with it more time in which you are unable to legally drive. It can feel like a trap, where each new charge causes another suspension and you can’t seem to ever get your license back. Once you discover the suspension, it is important to do what you can to get reinstated immediately, and be sure to contact a Georgia Suspended License Lawyer before you take any guilty plea in court. Let our Georgia Suspended License Attorneys work for you. Give Kunes Law Office a call for a free consult at 229-382-4900