House Bill 160 went into effect on January 1st, 2010 and is commonly known as the Georgia Super Speeder Law. This statute creates a separate misdemeanor for driving 75 m.p.h or up on a 2-lane road, or 85 m.p.h. or up on any road. The Department of Driver Services will send offenders a bill in the mail for $200 in addition to the fine levied by local municipal and county courts. Failure to pay this fine will result in another $50 fine and the suspension of the offender’s driver’s license or privilege to drive on the highways of this State.
The Georgia Super Speeder Law is unique statute that doesn’t have an exact equivalent in other jurisdictions. This can cause an issue when the violation is reported to an out of state driver’s home state. Some states such as Florida will treat a Super Speeder conviction as a form of reckless driving, which could negatively impact their driving and insurance record. It is important for out of state drivers to contact a local traffic attorney to see how their state will interpret a Super Speeder conviction. Hiring a Georgia attorney to have the speed on the ticket reduced may prevent the $200 fine and save a Reckless Driving charge from appearing on their record. Call Patrick Kunes today at (229) 382-4900 for a free consultation.